Woodcreek Speech and Debate



    Who are we?

    To be on the team competitors must be enrolled in the fall course, known as Advanced Speech and Debate (In the spring, we become an after-school program). This class is designed to offer direct instruction in competitive speech events and debate. The variety of competition offerings allows for students with diverse interests/skills to discover the events with which they are compatible. Students who take Advanced Speech and Debate enjoy performing. This course is devoted to competition preparation and is structured according to speaking events officially recognized by the National Speech & Debate Association. Students do extensive research and are required to attend and participate in events held outside of school hours. This course is offered to freshmen through seniors. The competitive season runs August to April, and for those competing at Nationals, to June.

    Speaker of the Tournament:

    Speaker of the tournament is a highly sought after award granted to one team member in each block after each tournament. Each block votes for one individual who embodies coachability, positivity, drive, and a strong work ethic. For more information on previous recipients of this award, visit the blog page. Our two most recent Speakers of the Tournament both truly embody the amazing character of this team.

    At our last fall debate tournament, Woodcreek brought home 26 awards!!! This brought our total number of awards to 142, and we’re only halfway through the season!

               Our speaker of the tournament honoree for block 3 is going to an extremely confident, bubbly and determined individual. This person has worked hard all season, constantly asking for advice, perfecting her speeches and helping other members of the team choreograph and rehearse.  She walks (or leaps) into class every day with a smile and an enthusiastic attitude, always ready to try new things. Her laughter is infectious and our classroom is brighter with her in it. This person has been very successful in speech and debate this year, breaking to finals in multiple events, as well as consistently receiving awards in debate - including this past tournament where she went undefeated! She is extremely driven, balancing a rigorous dance schedule, speech and debate along with all her regular school work. Her positivity and ambition are inspiring, and I know she’s going to continue to do amazing things! I’m proud to announce Cheyenne DeMille as our December 9th speaker of the tournament!

    Submitted by Tate Blas, manager, block 3

          For the speaker of the Tournament at Davis one person stood out among all the rest. Not only has this individual personally reached out to me, but she has also reached out to multiple team members for assistance to ensure she performs to the best of her ability. Her work ethic has not only been admirable and consistent all season, it has shown through her many successes in multiple events. Her positive attitude and enthusiasm for her teammates truly personifies what we look for in Speaker of the Tournament. Without further ado, I proudly announce Helen Huang as Block 4’s Speaker of the Tournament.

    Submitted by Robert Esty, manager, block 4

    Contact Information:

    For more information, contact the team's coach, Mrs. Elko.


    (916)-771-6565 (ext. 435)  


    WHS Season Calendar 2017-2018

    WHS Season Calendar 2017-2018

Upcoming Events

  • There are no upcoming events to display.

View Calendar
  • I would like to send an extra special THANK YOU to everyone who helped put on the spring showcase. This includes our team captain, Julia Chin, who did a fantastic job orchestrating the night’s events, the team, and our dedicated Boosters. We could not be in better hands!

    I’d also like to thank everyone who came out to watch the show. It was truly a pleasure to celebrate our remarkable season with so many new and returning families. If you weren’t able to attend, here’s a recap of our season + results from the state championships:

    • The team earned 198 (with state) awards and we qualified 12 pieces to the state championships.
    • We inducted 19 new members to the National Speech and Debate Association and we received the added distinction of 62 additional degrees with this prestigious honor society.
    • All three of our expository speakers made it to semis at state: Mark Mikityuk, Dana Bell, and Adithi Rao
    • Jonathan Davies made it to finals at state, taking 6th place in Congress debate.
    • We have 2 competitors heading to Nationals: Dana & Mark. We wish you the best of luck!
    • The raffle prize went to the Lobotzke family who will spend an extended weekend at the Bell’s beautiful Tahoe cabin. (This is the second time this season the Bells donated their vacation home. Thank you for your generosity!)

    Our end-of-season awards went to the following individuals:

    • Speakers of the Year: Julia Chin & Mark Mikityuk
    • Most Valuable Performer: Dana Bell
    • Most Improved: Ben Santiago-Kemp
    • Rookie of the Year: Adithi Rao


    Thank you ALL for a wonderful season! 


    Melisa Elko, teacher/coach

    Comments (-1)
  • Woodcreek’s S&D team spent the last two weekends competing for spots to attend the state championships. We competed in all 12 speaking styles and made it to finals in 9 of them. We also advanced to finals in Public Forum debate and Congress. In addition, senior, Dana Bell, received the President’s Award, which acknowledges her four years of competition as a state and national competitor. She also earned Woodcreek’s fifth Orator’s Cup. This is the highest award given by the Capitol Valley Forensic League. It places her on a “dream team” of only seven speakers, all of whom are considered the best in the Sacramento valley. A befitting honor for a young woman who finished league as a finalist in three speaking styles plus Public Forum debate.


    State Qualifiers:

    Dana Bell, Expository speaking (She also qualified in Humorous Interpretation, but she will compete in EXPOS.)

    Hunter Bos, Humorous Interpretation

    Jonathan Davies, Congress (He also qualified in Expository speaking, but he has chosen debate.)

    Dylan Deen, Original Prose and Poetry

    Robert Esty, Duo Interpretation

    Hudson Habermehl, Original Prose and Poetry

    Tommy Hubbard, Duo Interpretation

    Mark Mikityuk, Expository speaking

    Adithi Rao, Expository speaking

    Imene Smati, Dramatic Interpretation



    Dana Bell, National Extemporaneous + Public Forum debate w/partner, Tate Blas

    Tate Blas, Expository speaking + Impromptu speaking + Public Forum team debate

    Sophi Ceja, Congress

    Ryan Hardmeyer, Original Advocacy

    Helen Huang, Thematic Interp

    Morgan Lobotzke, Congress

    Sydney Sherk, Thematic Interp

    Imene Smati, Original Prose and Poetry + Congress

    Amy Sommercamp, Dramatic Interp

    Kyler Strohmeyer, Humorous Interp



    Rebecca Bendzick, Original Advocacy

    Sophie Ceja, Original Prose and Poetry

    Julia Chin, Original Advocacy

    Cheyenne Demille, Original Prose and Poetry

    Sean Hellar, Impromptu Speaking

    Morgan Lobotzke, Expository speaking

    Michael Ortiz, Original Prose and Poetry

    Ana Paskal, Oratorical Interp

    Kayleigh Porter, Expository speaking

    Savannah Rice, Expository speaking

    Ben Santiago-Kemp, Humorous Interp

    Sydney Sherk, Original Oratory

    Amy Sommercamp, International Extemporaneous

    Joseph White, Original Prose and Poetry



    Thank you,

    Melisa Elko, teacher/coach





    Comments (-1)