• The IB Diploma Program Model
    IB Diploma Model

    The IB Diploma comprises of six subject groups and three core elements.

    The six subject groups are:

    1. Studies in language and literature
    2. Language acquisition
    3. Individuals and societies
    4. Sciences
    5. Mathematics
    6. The Arts

    More information about the subject groups can be found on the Oakmont IB Course Offerings page.

    The three core elements are:

    • Creativity, Activity and Service (CAS)
      Enables students to enhance their personal and interpersonal development by learning through experience.

    • The Extended Essay (EE)
      Is an independent, self-directed piece of research, finishing with a 4,000-word paper

    • Theory of Knowledge (TOK)
      Provides an opportunity for students to reflect on the nature of knowledge, and on how we know what we claim to know. It asks students to reflect on the nature of knowledge, and on how we know what we claim to know and assessed through an oral presentation and a 1,600 word essay.
Bootstrap 4 Accordion with Plus Minus Icons

The Learner Profile

At the heart of all the IB programs is the learner profile, which is the IB mission statement translated into a set of learning outcomes for the 21st century. The learner profile provides a long-term vision of education with sets of ideals that can inspire, motivate and focus the work of schools and teachers, uniting them in a common purpose.

The IB Learner Profile has a distinctive set of attributes. These qualities prepare IB students to make exceptional contributions on campus. These characteristics aim to develop learners who strive to be:

They develop their natural curiosity. They acquire the skills necessary to conduct inquiry and research and show independence in learning. They actively enjoy learning and this love of learning will be sustained throughout their lives.

University faculties regularly note IB students’ passion for discovery.

They explore concepts, ideas and issues that have local and global significance. In so doing, they acquire in-depth knowledge and develop understanding across a broad and balanced range of disciplines.

IB students are extraordinarily well prepared for the academic requirements of university coursework.

They exercise initiative in applying thinking skills critically and creatively to recognize and approach complex problems, and make reasoned, ethical decisions.

IB students contribute to discussions in a meaningful way. They do not shy away from challenging questions and, once they know the answer, follow up by asking “why?”

They understand and express ideas and information confidently and creatively in more than one language and in a variety of modes of communication. They work effectively and willingly in collaboration with others.

IB students regularly deliver stimulating presentations and drive excellence in group assignments.

They act with integrity and honesty, with a strong sense of fairness, justice and respect for the dignity of the individual, groups and communities. They take responsibility for their own actions and the consequences that accompany them.

IB students are infused with the academic integrity that is a fundamental value of universities and colleges.

They understand and appreciate their own cultures and personal histories, and are open to the perspectives, values and traditions of other individuals and communities. They are accustomed to seeking and evaluating a range of points of view, and are willing to grow from the experience.

IB students have a deep understanding of various cultures and views, bringing an appreciation of new views to both their academic study and their involvement in local and wider communities. Their international mindedness complements the missions of the best tertiary institutions.

They show empathy, compassion and respect towards the needs and feelings of others. They have a personal commitment to service, and act to make a positive difference to the lives of others and to the Environment.

IB students tell us they bring this commitment to community and others to their activities and leadership roles at university and carry it throughout their lives.

They approach unfamiliar situations and uncertainty with courage and forethought, and have the independence of spirit to explore new roles, ideas and strategies. They are brave and articulate in defending their beliefs.

IB students transition well to challenging university settings and show resilience and determination in their work. In academics, they have the confidence to approach new or unfamiliar subjects or material.

They understand the importance of intellectual, physical and emotional balance to achieve personal well-being for themselves and others.

IB students are active participants in a wide range of aspects of campus life, as well as focusing on their academic development.

They give thoughtful consideration to their own learning and experience. They are able to assess and understand their strengths and limitations in order to support their learning and personal development.

IB students have developed an ability to reflect on their learning and to articulate how they learnt. They have learned that critical reflection is an important academic and life skill.

  • IB Characteristics